Unexpectedly

In exactly one month I will be spending my first full day in Honduras. I keep thinking that sentence over and over again, and honestly I cannot get used to the fact that I will soon be uprooting and moving to Honduras for almost a year. But then again, I never would have told you 8 years ago that I would have ended up going to college four hours from home. But in the end, that is the beauty of this journey called life, we never know what to expect.

At the beginning of my time in high school, I never expected to go through the toughest four years of my life to this point. I did not expect to battle with mental illness, I did not expect to have a close call with death at least twice. I did not expect to graduate, and finally I did not expect to go to college. But God had other plans for my life.

I went to college. However, I did not expect that 2 weeks into my first year of college my Grandma Toom would die.  But she did.  After that I did not expect to make it past one year of college, but I did. I did not expect to graduate college with above a 3.5 GPA. Mostly, I did not expect to enjoy college or miss it once I was gone. But I assure you I miss all those great people and memories that I was able to make in my four years at Morningside.

My point is this. Sometimes the most beautiful things develop when least expected. Out of hurt, out of tragedy, out of tears comes a beautifully unexpected blessing.

Today would have been my Grandma Bev’s 75th birthday. She was taken from us unexpectedly in 2011, in my first two weeks of college. I am in no way glad that she was taken from us so early, and I miss her dearly every day. Every holiday, every time her name is brought up I miss her. But because of my Grandmothers death my world was rocked to the point that I had to make a decision. Either I was going to continue to let life pass me by, or I was going to stand up and fight to live the life I wanted. I chose the latter of the two. Even in death, my grandmother blessed me more than I ever imagined.

It is no coincidence that on my Grandmothers birthday I am also celebrating the beginning of a new adventure. I know she is watching over me, and I know that she is pulling strings for me where she is. She always watched out for me before, and even after her physical body is gone I know she is still doing the same.

Do not let unexpected circumstances drag you down today or any day because God has a funny way of using those unexpected circumstances to bring about the most glorious blessings.

My prayer for you and I today is that we are able to see past the fear of the unexpected and instead look for the blessings that come because of it.

10411756_1004429839581261_3990945105978437798_n10370954_10155526869880438_3967722984689655198_n282489_10150329694745948_4812570_n

One thought on “Unexpectedly

Leave a Reply

